Welcome to CPAPS.  We are a group of local artists who enjoy the camaraderie, support and safety of painting together.  We select sites within Connecticut that provide painters with bucolic farmlands, coastal marshes and vistas, waterways in forests, and open spaces, as well as some of our historic and unique residences and villages. We encourage you to come paint with us!

Upcoming Events:

  • January 4, 2020 @ 10:00 am - 1:00 pm

    Juried Members Show Removal of Art
    Hartford Fine Art & Framing Co, 80 Pitkin St, East Hartford, CT 06108, USA
    See more details

4th Annual Art Supply Tag Sale and Trade Event

“One Artist’s Trash is Another Artist’s Treasure”

September 28 — 10:00 AM till 4:00 PM
Sponsored By CT Plein Air Painters Society (CPAPS.org)
FentonRiver Studio – 287 Gurleyville Road, Storrs, CT


Free and open to the public, anyone who would like to buy or sell art supplies is invited to buy or sell at our fourth annual Tag Sale and Trade Event. This is your opportunity to reduce that invasive art inventory, or, better yet, explore a new medium at a great price. This event is organized to support artists with an opportunity to sell, trade, or give away any supplies you don’t need or wish to purchase. With no charge and no commission, it is open to any anyone who has supplies to sell or acquire.

Each person is responsible for his or her own sales. Just Bring a table and whatever necessary to display your work. Set up will be Friday afternoon, or anytime after 7:30 AM.

Any and all art items are welcome, including but not limited to:

Frames, mat board, canvas, brushes, pastels, paints, paper, furniture, also ceramic, jewelry, or sculpture supplies. There will be plenty of free materials available also, including books, art magazines, and used brushes.


Spread the word…we have lots of space, and everyone is welcome!

To participate with items to sell, call Shauna at 860-429-3646

2019 Open Members Show

Our 2019 Open Members Show was held at Hartford Fine Art and Framing on Pitkin Street, East Hartford from March 2 to April 27. The Juror of Awards was Lyme Art Academy instructor Nancy Gladwell. The Opening Reception and Awards Ceremony was March 9. Congratulations to all the award winners.

First Place – Field’s Edge by Alicia Mordenti

Second Place – Pointing the Way by Jane Penfield

Third Place – For Sale by Jack Broderick

Honorable Mention – Facing the Wind by Barbara Maiser

Honorable Mention – Kent Falls by Dawn Tyler

2018 Annual Juried Members Show

The 2018 Juried Members Show is at Southington Community Cultural Arts on Main Street in Southington from November 10th to December 15th.  The juror of acceptance and awards was nationally known artist Kathy Anderson.  The opening reception and awards ceremony was held November 10th. Congratulations to the award winners and all the artists whose work was accepted in the show. Here are this year’s award winners:

CPAPS Award of Excellence – Back Around the Point by Bernard McTigue

CPAPS Gold Medal Award – Connecticut Backroad by Jack Broderick

CPAPS Founders Gold Medal Award – Friendship by Marilyn Swift

Don Demers Award – Sunny Cedars by Dinah Wells


Jerry’s Artarama of West Hartford Award – Swim Dock at Sunrise by Alicia Mordenti


Wholesale Frame Award – Dory by Jennifer Holmes

Honorable Mention Award – Soaring Skies, Early Afternoon by Diana Rogers

Honorable Mention Award – Crafts Market by Dawn Tyler


Landscape Exhibition at the Windsor Art Center

On Saturday, May 12, The Windsor Art Center opened its exhibition of paintings by seven established, award-winning members of the Connecticut Plein Air Painters Society.  Out in the Open: A Connecticut Plein Air Landscape Exhibition, which runs from May 12 through June 23, 2018, will include works painted outdoors in inspiring places around the state. Artists Zufar Bikbov, Jack Broderick, Laura J. Eden, Robert Noreika, Elizabeth Rhoades, Shauna Shane, and Marilyn Swift have created works in a variety of media that are on display.  The opening reception was very well attended.  Here’s some photos from the exhibition.

2018 Open Members Show

The 2018 Open Members Show was held at the South Windsor Library on Sullivan Avenue from March 3rd to March 31st.  Many thanks to our juror, Barbara Lussier and congratulations to the award winners shown below with comments from Barbara.

First Place, Barbara Maiser, ‘Mr. Squirrel’s House’

‘Very interesting composition and play of light expertly executed and nice play of warm and cool. ‘


Second Place, Dinah Wells, ‘Broken Shadow’

‘This artist has defied our belief that snow and winter are cold and has presented a snow scene that warms us. Very interesting shadow patterning and composition.’

Third Place, Jack Broderick, ‘Solstice’

‘Interesting composition of diagonals that control the viewer and bring you into a warm glow. Artist successfully orchestrated the color temperature to warm a cool season that feels more alive than dormant.’

Honorable Mention, Jane Penfield, ‘Trapp Falls’

‘A very graphic abstraction, full of energy through line and brushstrokes. The warm of foliage plays well with the cool rocks and water that includes warm and cool colors creating more interest.’

Honorable Mention, Doug Anderson, ‘Train Yard’

‘This painting speaks well of an artist willing to find interest in a subject often overlooked. The graphic lines interact well with rounded forms and a limited palette.’