Parking at Canton Historical Museum, 11 Front Street Canton, CT 06019
Contact Member Painter: Ken Masslon for more info: firstname.lastname@example.org
History: Collinsville is located along the banks of the Farmington River, in the southeast corner of the Town of Canton. The Collinsville section of Canton, is a factory town in New England. Listed as one of “America’s 10 Coolest Small Towns” in Arthur Frommer’s Budget Travel Magazine. Visit us to explore the past.
In 1826, Samuel Watkinson Collins, age 24, his brother David, age 21, and their wealthy cousin, William Wells purchased a sawmill property along the Farmington River and began mass producing quality axes and selling them worldwide. The former Valley House Hotel, on the corner of Main and River Street, has been converted to condominiums. The storefronts and homes in Collinsville retain their early 20th century charm. The former rail line, which Sam Collins brought to Town in 1850, has been converted to a walking and biking trail which connects to several area towns.
Collinsville features an extensive shopping area, with a variety of local merchants. You will find fine jewelry, custom crafts, a collection of antiques, and recreation venues. The Farmington River runs through Collinsville and the former railroad tracks have been converted to the Farmington River Greenway walking/biking trail.